Tuesday, November 2, 2010

Room wins Writers' Trust Award

Congratulations to Emma Donoghue! Her novel Room – which was also nominated for the Man Booker Prize – won the Writers' Trust Fiction Prize, worth $25,000.

James Fitzgerald won the Writers' Trust Non-Fiction Prize for his book What Disturbs Our Blood: A Son's Request to Redeem the Past, also worth $25,000.

The Vicky Metcalf Award for Children's Literature was given to Polly Horvath, whose latest book, Northward to the Moon was published in Februrary 2010. The award is worth $20,000.

The Marian Engel Award, given to a writer in mid-career for an entire body of work, was awarded to Miriam Towes, author of A Complicated Kindness, The Flying Troutmans and Swing Low: A Life, among others. The Marian Engel Award is worth $25,000.

The Matt Cohen Award, given for a body of work to an author for whom writing is their primary pursuit, was awarded to Myra Kostash, from Edmonton. The prize is worth $20,000.

Congratulations to all the nominees and the winners! 

1 comment:

Real Time Web Analytics
Powered By Ringsurf