Monday, September 20, 2010

Giller 2010 Countdown

Like any good awards countdown, the one for the Scotiabank Giller Prize begins with the longlist. Last year's Giller went to The Bishop's Man by Linden MacIntyre, this year's winner will come from this list:
The Matter with Morris by David Bergen (Phyllis Bruce Books/Harper Collins)
Player One by Douglas Coupland (House of Anansi Press)
Cities of Refuge by Michael Helm (McClelland & Stewart)
Light Lifting by Alexander McLeod (Biblioasis)
The Debba by Avner Mandelman (Other Press/Random House of Canada)
The Imperfectionists by Tom Rachman (Dial/Random House of Canada)
This Cake is for the Party by Sarah Selecky (Thomas Allen Publishers)
The Sentimentalists by Johanna Skibsrud (Gaspereau Press)
Lemon by Cordelia Strube (Coach House Books)
Curiosity by Joan Thomas (McLelland & Stewart)
Sanctuary Line by Jane Urquhart (McLelland & Stewart)
Cool Water by Diane Warren (Phyllis Bruce Books/Harper Collins)
Annabel by Kathleen Winter (House of Anansi Press)
Of this list, two are short story collections (Sarah Selecky's and Alexander McLeod's) and I have only managed to recommend one, The Imperfectionists. I hope that means my predicting skills have improved since last year.

The winner of the best Canadian novel or short-story collection receives $50,000 and each of the finalists (on the shortlist) receive $5,000. That amount of money – and the notoriety that comes with winning – makes the Giller a pretty bit deal in the world of Canadian book awards.

The shortlist will be posted on Oct. 5 and the winner will be announced on Nov. 9. Stay tuned.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Real Time Web Analytics
Powered By Ringsurf