Tuesday, April 6, 2010

Griffin Poetry Prize: The Shortlist

The Griffin Poetry Prize is the largest poetry prize in the world for an English-language (or English translation) first-edition poetry collection. Each year, two awards of $75,000 are give out: one to a living poet residing in Canada and one to an living international poet. The prize purse increased this year (the prize was formerly $50,000 for each winner) and for the first time ever, each finalist will also receive a cash prize of $10,000. The prize was launched in 2000 as a way of recognizing the importance of poetry and the role it plays in society.

This year's judges are Canadian poet Anne Carson, Scottish poet Kathleen Jamie and American poet Carl Phillips. The shortlists for the 2010 awards was announced today.

International Prize shortlist:
Grain by John Glenday (Picador)
A Village Life by Louise Glück (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)
The Sun-fish by Eiléan Ní Chuilleanáin (The Gallery Press)
Cold Spring in Winter by Valérie Rouzeau and translated by Susan Wicks (Arc Publications)
Canadian Prize shortlist:
The Certainty Dream by Kate Hall (Coach House Books)
Coal and Roses by P.K. Page (The Porcupine's Quill)
Pigeon by Karen Solie (House of Anansi Press)
The Griffin Poetry Prize also publishes an annual anthology of works by the nominated poets. All the proceeds go to UNESCO's World Poetry Day, which is another way the Griffin Trust works to promote poetry.

The Prize will be awarded on June 3, so check back here to find out who wins.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Real Time Web Analytics
Powered By Ringsurf